LAWRENCE, NEW YORK (MAY 2023)—Lawrence High School announced Matthew Sharin, Arundhi Patram, and Emma Urgen will be valedictorian, salutatorian, and honor speaker respectively, for the Class of 2023.

Matthew Sharin is a member of the National Honor Society, Debate Team, History Club, Mental Pabulum school newspaper, President & Captain of Science Bowl, Vice President of Tri-M Music Honor Society, Principal Cellist of the Orchestra, Honor String Ensemble and Pit Orchestra, and Varsity Captain in Quiz Bowl.

Matthew participated in the 2023 Nassau All-County Symphony Orchestra and the Long Island String Festival Orchestra.  He was a national Merit Scholar, AP Scholar with Honor Award Recipient, 1st-Place Presentation Award Recipient for the 2020 Merit Marvels Competition, American Chemical Society Outstanding Scholastic Achievement Award Recipient and he participated in the NYSSMA All-State Orchestra, and the NAFME All-Eastern Orchestra both held in Rochester, NY.

Arundhi Patram is a member of the National Honors Society, yearbook club, media club, key club, homecoming committee, and Quiz Bowl. She is the captain of the Color Guard, FHA Vice President, and a member of the Model Congress team.

Emma Urgen is a member of the Distributive Education Clubs of America (DECA), Fourth Precinct Youth Council, varsity badminton, and math mentors. Emma is the President of the Tri-M Music Honor Society, Treasurer of the Student Government Association, Vice President of the National Honor Society, CEO of Lawrence High School’s Virtual Enterprise, and Concertmaster of Lawrence High School Orchestra, Honors String Ensemble, and Pit Orchestra.

Other awards and recognitions that Emma has received include participating in the NAFME All-Eastern Symphony Orchestra, the NYSSMA All-State Orchestra, Long Island Youth Orchestra Concerto Competition Winner, Concertmaster of both 2023 NMEA Division V All-County Symphony Orchestra, the Long Island String Festival Orchestra and All-National Symphony Orchestra Alternate.

For more information about the Lawrence Union Free School District and the latest District news please visit  #LawrenceSTRONG


Photo 1: Matthew Sharin, Lawrence High School valedictorian Photo 2: Arundhi Patram, Lawrence High School salutatorian Photo 3: Emma Urgen, Lawrence High School honor speaker